Welcome to this world Jason!! : a birth story

For a while I had been wanting to do birth photography but as I had never done it I always wondered if it was for me, if I was going to like it. Well, let me tell you, I waited for 8 months to take pictures of this one and it was worth the wait. I’m not sure it was everything I expected, but it was certainly one of the most amazing moments in my life, after giving birth to my own kids that is.

When Kyrstin first contacted me, she was very interested because she didn’t do this with her first born, and had no photo memories of that moment. So once the months passed and due date was near we met, talked about our expectations, answered questions, talk about plan B, and covered pretty much any unexpected scenario that could occur. Then I head home, and waited very anxiously for that phone call.

It was about 2:38am when my phone rang on Friday, January 10th. I jumped out of bed, got dressed and hopped in my car. From the time they called me to the time I got to the hospital about 25 minutes had passed. She was in triage and I just sat there anxiously, next to her mom. It was around 3:15 when they took her to her room, and the contractions already where super close together. I remember waiting what felt like eternity, but it was only a couple of minutes and then I came in and got my camera out. Everything happened so fast, yes only 13 minutes from the moment she started pushing til the moment she delivered. At 3:29am baby Jason was born at 8lbs 11oz & 20in…

I could not express with words the feeling I had that night. It was amazing and I cannot wait til I had the opportunity to photograph another birth.

Here are just some of my favorites of that morning.

_MG_3217

 

©2014 Veronica Swallow Photography

One thought on “Welcome to this world Jason!! : a birth story

  1. So glad you decided to take Kyrstin on. I’m sure that emotions and feelings are great even on the other side of giving birth. (I’m hoping to find out one day, I’ve only been the one pushing) The pictures are amazing. Keep up the good work. I’m so glad to be able to see family in pictures of what is missed from not living in town. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

