Picture perfect

How many times you’re in a session and you see the most amazing candid moment going on, and you don’t wan to miss it, but wait… what’s that behind them?.. is there really a trash can there?.. no time to re-position yourself, it’s a matter of a hundred of a second when you have to make the decision to click or lose the moment.

I am one who thinks “less is more”, and really try my hardest to do as least as I can in Photoshop to edit the picture. I like to call it ENHANCING. The beauty of the picture is there already, but there’s something missing, or there’s something there that is becoming a visual distraction or simply you want to create a more artistic photograph. So, what to do?… Well , this is the time when the cloning tool, layering and masking all come in handy.

Let me show you a few examples of what I have done.

belia

This was one of the first ones that I did recently. They started walking and I was trying to find the right angle, and they were getting closer and closer, so I just dropped down to the floor and started shooting. The pole was bothering me, but I knew it was going to be fixable. A bit of work but totally worth it.

LAUREN

Here in Yuma we have beautiful parks, but one of my pet-peeves is the fact that there’s a trash can per square inch. NO I’m not kidding, is like they’re trying to tell you something, like “Sorry, this is not a place to take beautiful pictures”. I really wanted a picture of Lauren and Andrew on the swings and this was the best angle, but look at that humongous trash can back there. After removing it,  I really didn’t like the color version, so I tried it out in B&W and loved it!

esther

Here’s another swing example, same park as above. Here the issue is the blue pole sticking out of her head. Since we’re not looking at the rest of the playground structure, it really doesn’t belong here and it’s a bit distracting to the eye. Final result, much more appealing to the eye.4

LAYLAH

What happens when mommy goes all out for the cake smash session and matches all the colors perfectly from the outfit and cake to the decorations, and the photographer (me) shows up with a beautiful antique chair with the wrong hue of blue. So while editing I just adjusted the color of the chair to match her outfit.

ashley

When you see that ugly abandoned building and think “hmm, this has potential” and then you see the wires all the way through the building and think, is it really worth it?… I think with this particular image, it was totally worth it, what do you think? (don’t forget to look at the squished bottle on the floor in between his legs.. yes I clean up trash as well).

danielle

And last but not least, one of my favorite edits so far. Candid picture of a beautiful couple, a very sunny day, and this was the best angle to position them. As I’m editing and looking at the picture, there was something that I didn’t like. It took me a while, but the image didn’t speak to me and was about to put it in the “do not use” folder (yes I have one of those). Then, a brilliant idea, maybe if I added some blue sky and some clouds.. WELL, I think the image speaks for itself, but I think it was a very well made decision. Love, love, love the final image!

My clients deserve a perfect picture, and I’ll do whatever it takes to deliver one.

One of my favorite quotes:

You don’t take a photograph, you make it.  ~Ansel Adams

Leave a Reply

